Netflix has quiet night at Emmy Awards

Despite going in with 31 nominations, Netflix came away empty handed from the 66th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards on Monday night, with no prizes for House Of Cards, Orange Is The New Black or Derek.

Netflix did win seven awards at the Emmys’ Creative Arts ceremony last week, including two statuettes for Orange Is The New Black – Outstanding Casting and Guest Actress in a Comedy Series for Uzo Aduba. But none of these awards were included in the main televised ceremony on Monday.

House Of Cards lost best drama to Breaking Bad, while Modern Family beat Orange Is The New Black in the best comedy series category.

Emmys host Seth Meyers joked about Netflix’s expected wins at the beginning of the night: “Not very nice when someone younger comes along, is it, cable?” But the big wins from the streaming upstart failed to materialise.

Indeed, the night was dominated by previous winners, including actors Jim Parsons for The Big Bang Theory and Julianna Margulies for The Good Wife.

PBS drama Sherlock: The Last Vow was one of the few shows to break through the repeat winners, taking best director for Steven Moffat, along with acting awards for Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman, neither of whom were present at the ceremony. Sherlock also won the biggest clutch of awards across the Primetime and Creative Arts Emmys with a total of seven statuettes.

Breaking Bad was also a big winner, taking six statuettes across the two ceremonies. In addition to best drama series, the show also won best lead actor (Bryan Cranston), supporting actor (Aaron Paul), actress (Anna Gunn) and Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series (Ozymandias, Moira Walley-Beckett).

Netflix’s other Creative Arts Emmys included Outstanding Single-Camera Picture Editing for a Comedy Series (Orange Is the New Black); Outstanding Sound Mixing for a Comedy or Drama Series (House Of Cards) and three for documentary The Square – Picture Editing for Nonfiction Programming, Outstanding Cinematography for Nonfiction Programming and Outstanding Direction for Nonfiction Programming.